Poets logo

Printer's Devil

A Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image

Let it get weird, confusing and obscure

Use the vexing, esoteric diction

Infect imaginations; give no cure

Generate a poetic addiction

End a line with a preposition to

Vex pedants and incur their pompous wrath;

To boldly split an infinitive, you

Adamantly refuse to do the math

Unleash a metaphor and ride it all night

Treat a simile like a prisoner;

Make your text a synecdoche for spite

Play the part of a sinister scrivener

Write not to delight, but to befuddle

Offer no tidy answers; just trouble

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 days ago

    Oooo, treat a simile like a prisoner, I especially loved that line!

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    It seems like I have entered deep into a world of linguistics chaos.....I enjoyed reading your playful sonnet..

  • Gerard DiLeo4 days ago

    Genius! Now, you need to go further and add to this, because nowhere do I see a dangling modifier or a nonspecific appositive. Tempt me, devil! Reminds me of the boy who wrote, "I seek the place I'm going to"; to which his teacher said you can't end that with a proposition. To which he revise it, "I seek the place I'm going to, asshole!"

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.