Poets logo

Primary Mirrors

"Beauty is truth, truth beauty—" (John Keats)

By Ryan GreendykPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Primary Mirrors
Photo by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

Today it seems I am

mirrored by those colors

speaking the world to plenty:

The hummingbird

and her ruby throat

tell how spring is a return,

how the heart is my own

kind of flower, opened

beats by light and water

and the blue into which

she flies is a sky speaking

how expanse is lonely and true,

how I am a contained vastness,

a canvas for budding green,

mineral silver, and all the

prismatic certainties of form

I am certain

that beauty speaks

truly, as if to become

equal to truth,

so that I may come to color

more fully, cyclically,

speaking their names

equally with the truth

of my name

because I too am

a mirror for

red, blue, yellow

bird, sky, sun

we collaborate in primacy,

and meanwhile

the world goes on,

opening, returning

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ryan Greendyk

I'm a writer and a poet, living where the desert meets the mountains, exploring where the mundane meets the radiant beyond. I like writing that reenchants the world. I'm currently writing my first novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.