Poets logo

Pretty

A Poem

By Katerina PetrouPublished 19 days ago Updated 18 days ago 1 min read
Pretty
Photo by Jeremy Ricketts on Unsplash

It has been a while.

My thoughts have been busy

with real men who I found to be

not men at all.

Though, in the warm breeze

of this gentle morning,

I questioned your presence

and if she is with you, still.

Truthfully, I do not want you,

really.

But you were just so, so

beautiful.

I want something like you

beside me.

With those emerald eyes

and slanted smile.

Wispy hair, whiskey breath.

Your arms and legs so tall.

Everything you spoke could

hurt me.

So do not speak.

Just,

sit beside me on the beach

as I read.

Do not warm my skin with yours.

I have the sun for that.

If you ever speak over the sea,

I will leave.

I do not want to love you.

Nor, for you to love me.

I want to look at you, only.

Because you are just so pretty.

art

About the Creator

Katerina Petrou

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Stephanie Schultza day ago

    !!!!!

  • I found this relatable because that's exactly how I feel with the guys I have crushes on. Loved your poem!

  • Enjoyed your poem.

Katerina PetrouWritten by Katerina Petrou

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.