Poets logo

Presence

To bring attention to you, the care in my chest

By Lark HanshanPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
15
Presence
Photo by Ehud Neuhaus on Unsplash

Sweetheart, may I?

Endearments feel strange on my tongue

I always wanted to be called honey, or hon

But releasing it from my stomach of butterflies

To bring attention to you, the care in my chest

It

Feels

Hard

To be vulnerable, to admit that I want

To be soft, to confess that I wish to be loved

To let go, to let life be what it be and simply

Hold

Your

Hand

Looking away feels easier

Your eyes are brown, so brown, so light and gold and flecked

I look at them and I think ‘muddy puddle, but it’s not so simple, not a slight

Sunlight in clear water, mud coating fallen leaves of spring and fall and embracing them, saving them

The water drifts, settled, calm, clarity

The earthen tones move with the sun and they shift and they sing

I

Am

Safe?

I am the boots that splash in your puddle

I am the one who clouds the calm

I spread my confusion, uncertainty, my fear

The colours disappear and they’re no longer clear

I am a storm that pushes and pulls

I don’t know how to trust in the

Here

And

Now

love poems
15

About the Creator

Lark Hanshan

A quiet West Coast observer. Writing a sentence onto a blank page and letting what comes next do what it must.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 9 days ago

    A stunning love poem. I loved it, but especially liked the last part beginning with the boots.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Very great imagery here

  • Fly Alone3 months ago

    So exquisite - delicately knitted thoughts

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    For sting style works beautifully with your poem. This is quite beautiful Congratulations

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Beautiful poem! Loved the line: “earthen tones move with the sun and they shift and they sing”

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    I like what you've done here...!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.