Poets logo

Polychromatic epiphanies

A coming out story

By Karina MaysPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Spread your wings and fly

I wonder if I spoke my truth in color could you understand?

That it’s the deep mocha - mahogany swirl color we make with our hands.

That I was first captured by the whites of her teeth as she stretched beautifully etched muscles to smile back at me.

That her aura is flooded with viridescent hues and blues

An adventurous spirit that continues to grow together divinely in tune.

Teaching me how to make room for my own colors..

like the crimson Mac lipstick I wear, I hide there. Shielded and guarded.

There is no humanitarian or pride piece I would be awarded.

I live in a closet of colorful lies.

Hoping others and I don’t lock eyes.

She is the real prize.

Paint me green with envy because I’m part timing it while she’s full-time herself

Every day she came to school proudly sporting a rainbow belt.

Encouraging me to not place my wants on a shelf.

Colors are the opposite of bad for your health.

Use chartreuse to better stimulate decisions

Actions may be impulsive so you better be with them. With papaya stained lips I’ve had enough of it. Who can live like this?

I want to call it quits.

Someone once said, that instead of making yourself dead, make a statement.

Paint your entire room black.

That will get their attention.

However, I don’t see my self in black..

or in white

I see myself in iridescent stripes, in shades so bright it would be a miraculous sight.

To come out of that night

To embrace my own light

My cheeks turn blush at the thought.

What these many colors have wrought

And you ask what makes me unique?

The plethora of colors that are the make up of me.

Yet only in her reflection is it clear to see,

The polychromatic person I strive to be.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Karina Mays

stay open — be brave — write it all out

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.