Poets logo

Home is where my heart is

Poetry from the soul

By Karina MaysPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m tired of hearing platitudes like “find your people” and I’ll admit that I’m guilty of saying them too.

They make you feel good in times where you’re questioning your truth. But for once, I want to hear that it’s great to be alone.

That I’ll be okay if I venture out into the unknown.

That I don’t need anyone holding my hand.

That I’ve sat out long enough and it’s time to take a stand.

Maybe I don’t have “people”, but I still have me.

We forget how important that is, you see.

I cannot remember the last time I was the navigator of my own life,

I all but disappeared in my role as a wife.

This time of solitude is more precious than gold.

To do: whatever I want without being told.

Some days that consists of dressing up, to the T.

Throwing on red lipstick and flaunting personality.

And others all it means is I don’t have to remind myself to breathe.

No longer holding my breath anticipating tricks up his sleeve.

I prayed for the days I was liberated and free.

That the only critical voice in my head would be coming from me.

I worshipped so many others, easily: so why is it this hard to love myself?

And when there is no village, who do they expect you to ask for help?

Someone once said I was made from the fires meant to see me dead. Another promised I was stronger than the voices in my head.

Whether words bounce like rubber or stick like glue,

I hope at least this stays with you:

It is great to be alone.

Start with being your own friend.

Do all the things you love, solo, make it a trend.

Yes, you can go far all on your own.

You can be solid, whole and strong.

Identifying as home 🏠 #theangrypoet

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Karina Mays

stay open — be brave — write it all out

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.