Poets logo

Poetry of Life

Part One

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
1
Poetry of Life
Photo by Kateryna Hliznitsova on Unsplash

Poetry begins before the first breath of life is inhaled.

There was Mama’s voice and the symphony she held within;

Her melody elicited my tiny thumps, kicks, and somersaults as I whirled within the fluid of life.

At last, there was the brightness of the outside world.

It arrived with a noisy hum of activity.

Mama cooed over my tiny pixie-like face.

There was poetry in the songs that she sang,

In the tune she hummed as I dozed into happy oblivion.

In a flash, I was teetering and toddling about.

Curly pigtails bounced as I landed on my diapered bottom with a giggle.

Our pet kitty cat purred and snuggled against my side.

Oh, how I loved her so!

Hissssss! “Oops!”

I was not supposed to pull her tail!

Mama says she doesn’t like that.

Kitty meowed and rolled next to me.

I squealed and reached for her amber fur.

She would knead the cushion beneath us, and her claws would make a barely audible rriiipp noise as they released the fabric.

There was poetry in the sounds of Mama cooking in the kitchen behind us.

Radio playing, water bubbling in a pot on the stovetop.

The washing machine added its swish while the dryer hummed along.

It was the daily song of a busy but contented home.

Before Mama knew it, I was off to school!

Her camera shuttered and flashed,

The school bus braked to a stop,

Its stop sign darted out as the door whooshed open for me to board.

My new shoes giddily raced up the steps,

The fabric of my chosen seat softly sighed as I settled in.

In the classroom, my teacher’s chalk scraped across the blackboard in a neat scrawl.

The shuffling of papers,

Books being pulled out of desks,

Backpacks being zipped or unzipped,

Pencils scritch-scratching across the lined pages set upon our worn wooden desks.

A chair squeaked,

The clock ticked,

Soon the bell would ring for lunch, and a new cacophony shall begin.

That was the poetry of my academic life.

In a blink, it was time for graduation!

The sun shining overhead,

Breeze ruffling the tassels which swung from our caps,

Polyester gowns swish around our bodies.

Birds chirping in the distance.

Excited whispers,

Overzealous outbursts,

Families whispered anxiously as they watched with pride.

Wriggly youngsters complain about having to remain seated.

Valedictorian takes the stage,

Acoustic feedback screeches out,

Giggles and groans in equal measure.

Soon to be replaced with a resounding applause.

Names are called out like lyrics in the song of life.

Diplomas received, heels tapping upon the stage stairs.

Upstage…

…Across….

Downstage.

Another family cheers joyfully!

This is the poetry of a life on the cusp of adulthood.

By Chichi Onyekanne on Unsplash

. . .

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

I'm also on Medium.

social commentaryperformance poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.