Poets logo

Poetry Collection - Part Two

A collection of short Poems

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 3 min read
10
Poetry Collection - Part Two
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

A collection of short poems written at different times of my life.

If you are interested in Part One, I have included it here.

**********************************************************************

By Birti Ishar on Unsplash

The fear of being abandoned and not knowing if you will cope with the loss. The questions running through my head when I felt that I was going to lose someone I loved.

After You Have Gone

Will all these things still happen?

***

Will the sun still rise?

Will the birds still fly?

***

Will the wind still blow?

Will the stars still glow?

***

Will the leaves still fall?

Will the insects still crawl?

***

Will the flowers still bloom?

Will the cats still groom?

***

Will I still grieve?

When you leave?

**********************************************************************

News Flash - yes I discovered the answers to these questions. They all still happen, even after a loss. The world keeps on turning.

**********************************************************************

By freestocks on Unsplash

There are times when we all pretend that we are okay, when in fact we are not. Some days the brighter the smile, the worst the pain we are trying to hide. We can be very clever with how we go about cloaking our hidden feelings.

Hidden Feelings

Buried at the very bottom of my heart

***

Buried deeply in my heart

My disillusioned dreams

Of love and happiness

Pain and screams

Safely hidden

In Extremes.

***

Sunny days, passing time

Cannot numb my pain

Tore my world apart

Shattered my brain

Broke my heart

Now chained.

***

I go about my daily affairs

My smile is my disguise

All my painful feelings

Ignored and denied

Only eyes reveal

Our demise.

**********************************************************************

I learnt from a very young age to hide my feelings. I don’t handle sharing my vulnerability with others. I am also terrified of showing any form of weakness. So yes I have plenty of hidden feelings.

**********************************************************************

By Alejandra Quiroz on Unsplash

How exciting is it when romance is swooping through the blood in your veins, invading your head and heart and mixing up that cocktail of emotions.

But then how devastated are you to be totally disillusioned by romance. Suddenly you are lethargic, with twin waterfalls decorating your face and an ache in your chest, as if you had swallowed a marching band.

Then on one super starry night, romance eclipsed the air and back, filling your proud heart.

Romance

Is back to stay

***

Rainbows stretching across the skies

And it doesn’t matter who you are,

You will succumb to superstition

Like wishing wells and shooting stars.

***

Looking up on a moonless night

Realising your dreams have disappeared,

Romance abandoned long ago

No more loving words to hear.

***

Then once more you looked up to see

The stars appeared and the light does dance,

Love was again rekindled in your heart

For Cupid’s Arrow has awoken the romance.

**********************************************************************

And once again life can and does get interesting.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    These poems were very relatable and emotional

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.