Poets logo

Poem: "To Be Strong & Anxious"

..But my stressors and I have an interesting relationship.

By Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Poem: "To Be Strong & Anxious"
Photo by Frank Busch on Unsplash

The last time I cried

was yesterday.

Now, I consider myself

a rather resilient individual

but my stressors and I

have an interesting relationship.

So,

this is what it's like

to be strong and anxious

it's a bit paradoxical

one day you look at

your obstacles, fist to palm

knuckles cracked and ready

with an "I've got this" attitude

the world is your oyster

and you can see

success is at your fingertips

and another day

you are trembling

life is as delicate as silence

and your mind is anything but quiet

there is a furious focus

on the negatives

you feel like you're choking

not tight enough to suffocate

but just enough to feel

your candle burning at both ends

the clock is ticking

and your heart is sprinting

to a finish line it cannot see

and before it gets too serious--

one, two, three, four

(one, two, three, four)

exhale, two, three, four

and for a moment's respite

away from hungry riptides

I am cast ashore

drenched in a cold sweat

in fear of having to play

more of this sick game

of tug of war

for my sanity

---

Inspired by trying to overcome the stressors of quarantine

follow me for more artwork/poetry on my instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ephrain_/

thanks for feeling~

inspirational

About the Creator

Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a therapist based in New York. I love my kettlebell, jump rope, and rower. Mystery/fantasy, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, RPDR, and water enjoyer.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Written by Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.