Poets logo

Poem: Lemonade And A Sword Of Gratitude

More Is Yet To Come

By Morgan LahmPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ella C on Unsplash

Lemonade and a Sword of Gratitude

I forget my gratitude

The attitude of an empty doorway

Isn’t the face you want to see

Hearted roots and currents of love

Spreading out– flattening decay

Rubbing alcohol on my forearms

A repellent I use in spite of you

Waste of money when the cashier

Wonders what it’s for

Wrong initiative

My intentions are toxins rolled in chocolate

So I can still taste good

I’m still so sorry

You changed your clothes to lemonade and I

Didn’t like it

So I threw water over your parade

And expected a smile

Why have my stubborn eggs grown?

They are hard to crack

Spilling yolk in my bed sheets at night

They are the same color as your hair

A glow stick in the hallway

You hugged me, and I grunted because

I felt a force from you

I begin again, again, again

you listen, listen, listen

Till you can’t hear me anymore

I forget our intentions

Recollect at my doorstep

I gather them up

It’s an overwhelming surprise

The presents mailed at my doorstep

I start to remember my love and gratitude in handfuls

I celebrate wanting to show you and call you

But you are already aware

I swing swords and swear more is yet to come

About: Keeping intentions pure in a friendship is important to remember when sour feelings arise. Doing something in spite of someone else ultimately makes things worse. It’s a limited time pleasure that only holds for a second. Once the release unravels, it burns. Even sorry feels like a load of guilt compared to what could have been avoided. The right thing can always be done.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Lahm

Hello! I'm a writer/poet, musician, and nature enthusiast. This blog is to share my written self to the world. To amuse, to entertain, and to bring emotion to the table.

Insta: @ms.poetic_writer

Medium: https://medium.com/@morganjlahm

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.