Poets logo

Poem: "Half-Circle Thoughts"

"Does that sound right to you?"

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: "Half-Circle Thoughts"
Photo by Jack Anstey on Unsplash

Knowing that I am better off than others

how can I be thankful for what I have?

-

is that not being happier

at the expense of others?

-

How am I supposed to relish in the absence

of my own suffering, knowing fairly well

someone lives in agony?

-

And please, tell me

how am I to compare myself to those below me

as a means to make myself feel better?

-

Does that sound right to you?

-

And yet, on the other hand

to compare myself to those beyond me

just creates a self-directed disdain

-

So, what then?

-------

inspired by reading a research article regarding self-comparison. When done incorrectly, comparison of yourself to someone above you can be turned into envy, and the comparison of yourself to someone below you can be turned into scorn.

Article: "Envy Up, Scorn Down: How Comparison Divides Us" by Susan T. Fiske.

The counters are to use empathy and externalization for scorn, and use envy and transform it into admiration for those above you.

more work available on Instagram @ephrain_

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.