Poets logo

Poem: "Upend"

"Everything feels like hell or the high road.."

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: "Upend"
Photo by Bram. on Unsplash

All my entries are like a scientist's progress notes

It seems like ages since the last time that we spoke

Trying to inspire myself with all the words I wrote

Everything's feeling like hell or the high road

-

I get sick and tired of hearing all of this life advice

Acting like I went around asking for advice

You strangle me and got me to the point of vice

You remind me every day that I play too nice

-

I got enough words to live by to live six lives

and even then I gotta tell myself five or six times

if I fall outta line treat me like I commit crimes

don't tell me this moment's the only one of its kind

-

Cause' you waste it, you wanna fit in, free fall

Die out like America's pastime, be baseball

You talk of experience, I hear tales too tall

Pretending to be the best with no friends to call

---

inspired by Drake's "Emotionless" that helped me feel like it was okay to do a quad rhyme scheme and guide me to some more word diversity rather than making it look forced.

more works on my Instagram page @ephrain_

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.