Poets logo

Poem: "First & Second Date"

Quick was the love, even quicker was the exit.

By DEUXQANEPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: "First & Second Date"
Photo by jisoo kim on Unsplash

I learned from you more than

just the rush of clashing skin;

it was being shackled in your warmth

that induced the feeling I was in.

Cuddle with me harder

steal your glances like a sin

stories blooming in my soul

where do I begin?

Canadian clubs and maple syrup dreams

on day one you're already sending me memes

"Power couple 2016," you were the first to say

Not gonna lie, would we still be together today?

Geology major, love of my life minor

he says "you were my last swipe," was that a sign, or

would you still let me back in after I shut you out

since your history gave me more than a few doubts

"Despite what happened back then, I still want you more,"

didn't seem to mean much when I showed you the door.

Quick was the love, even quicker was the exit

Quickest was the regret when I wrote "goodbye,"

and I sent it.

---

Inspired by old loves.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.