Poets logo

Poem: "Dearest Ex"

A future with you beautiful enough to sober me up.

By Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: "Dearest Ex"
Photo by Yuvraj Singh on Unsplash

Dearest Ex,

I feel as though

you had been plucked from the stars

and from them, they saw in me

some kind of great promise

that didn't have the heart to fulfill.

How lucky could I have been

to know that all my actions

had once led me through you

What an honor it was to argue with you

on days where our choices had broken the peace

and to be considered the worthy opponent.

Or on nights where the bourbon we shared

is nothing compared to the warmth I felt

when I believed I had a future with you

beautiful enough to sober me up

when I had smoked my dreams

to ashes.

The first night I slept without you

felt like driving 90 on the cliffside

angry enough to veer off the edge

and too scared to keep it together.

I am miserable.

I hope I can go one day

and not accidentally think of you

and get on with my life

but I'm not enjoying it.

I am out of control.

Some part of me hates myself

because I told myself to be careful.

I even saw the signs

but I was in denial.

I have seen this before.

But despite all of this

I am warm enough to be thankful for you

and to tell myself the next time I see signs

to be a lot wiser this time around.

At least my "next time" isn't with you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kirk Pineda, LMHC (aka "DEUXQANE")

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed mental health counselor (LMHC) based in New York. I love my kettlebell, jump rope, and rower. Mystery/fantasy, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, RPDR, and water enjoyer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.