Poets logo

Poem: "Famous Painter"

Damaged beyond repair, not wounded enough

By DEUXQANEPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: "Famous Painter"
Photo by Gabriella Clare Marino on Unsplash

What does it take to be a famous painter

like a really, really good painter

how badly do I have to be hurt

in order to be the most relatable?

When I go up on this stage and paint

a world of mine with only words

will you say I didn't have enough colors

or that my hues don't sink deep enough?

Will you say I haven't been

damaged beyond repair

not wounded enough

or inexperienced so that I can't speak?

Will you deface me as you see fit

and silence the lights and shades

just to make me understand

no, you don't understand

When you gazed on this mural

and saw nothing to your liking

the tinge and casts still flowed

my devastation and peace still reigned

I want not your approval

but we all know art does not go on

simply because it is good.

It survives by fighting on.

---

Inspired by "friends" who've put me down.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.