Poets logo

Poem: "Departure"

"The healing process is very much like..."

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: "Departure"
Photo by ben o'bro on Unsplash

The healing process is

very much like navigating your

way through a city you're

unfamiliar with

no gps, no wifi, no phone

all the avenues are

why-haven't-you's

all the streets are

take-me-back's

and the taxis are

passing memoirs

you could imagine the routes I took

and all the places I wound up on

here's one

I tried to recall a memory

seeing if I could take myself back

to the way things could've been

if I had just done it differently

but, y'know, things change

the streetlights became my hope

windows have become my eyes

the ambiance is my voice

and the buildings are how high my

soul gets

when i realize

I finally found myself

on the outskirts

of town

-

one of the first few poems I wrote after taking a 7 year hiatus; I used to write a lot of poetry when I was around 12-15 years old. Revisiting it felt nostalgic.

more works on my Instagram @Ephrain_

inspirational
1

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.