Poets logo

Pocket full of Poetryđź–¤

Poetry dump #1

By AbbieDrewPublished 2 years ago • Updated 2 years ago • 3 min read
4
@AbbieDrewPoetry

Poetry has always been a space I have explored since I was a young writer in school. I would bring my journals to class and share some pieces with my friends. Once I wrote a poem expressing my emotions about my biological sister and shared it with my class. This did not go well at all! I was sent to the guidance counselor who called my adopted parents! My adopted mother was never supportive when it came to my writing in any sense. She was upset I wa expressing the things she fought to keep hidden. For some time I stopped writing; I however took back my love for this safe expressive space when I was in my early 20s. In my mid 20s I stepped out and started sharing my work. This lead to many open mic nights, and a few events here and there (prior to the pandemic).

The poems here were written for a local art event I performed at some years back. It was such a wonderful experience! I was so nervous and anxious to perform for the first time! Not just a simple read at an open mic night, but my name was attached to something I felt so excited about!! This was big and I wanted to give it my all. During this period in my life self expression was becoming a focal point in my journey of healing. I was beginning to explore the parts of myself I was taught to hold inside, or are considered weird. I was exploring my sexuality for the first time, along with my identity. I think this is something I am always exploring! This is why I love poetry because it's constantly evolving with me. It's my way of connecting the world with myself. I hope you enjoy the pieces here, I would love any type of feedback. Thank you for reading my work.

Poem #1

The world said long haired women are beautiful

So we all cut that shit off.

Why is hair beautiful

unless it’s between my legs

Women with beards make you uncomfortable

Because the male ego has produced a society that

Only fits their desires

Blood drips down her leg

and the evidence screams in their face

But the white male privilege tells her she is insane

This world is ran by little boys in suits

Boys who forgot that they were raised by women

-Honest thoughts from a short haired Queer who shaves their pussy when she feels like it.

Poem#2

The coming of age

Today I have become a woman

Blood drips down my leg

My childhood becomes a distant memory

Becoming a woman is great they say

Sex ed says I can get pregnant

Steven laughs as I run to the bathroom

Why do I have to pay 75c

Blood

we die if we lose too much

Periods

A sign of an ending

I feel my childhood dying.

A death so painfully inescapable

Today, I have become a woman

Poem #3

Fuck Male Standards

Why do we have these shitty roles based on what's between our legs

Like please bitch, my pussy can do way more than clean up a damn kitchen

- I don’t even fucking like cleaning.

Poem #4

I am floating in a world that doesn’t understand the way I breathe is different from the way they do.

-voices from a confused childhood where being gay was not okay.

If you made it this far, I do appreciate your time and I hope you enjoyed these poems. You can follow me at @abbiedrewpoetry on instagram! Any hearts, tips, or subs means the world! Thank you so much.

-AbbieDrewPoetry

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

AbbieDrew

In a world that feels so dark creating content in any form is my way of surviving through it. I felt voiceless for years, this is my place to feel loud. AbbieDrewPoetry on instagram! Please subscribe!! Any tips truly are a gift! <3

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Love, love, love!! I think #3 was my favorite, but they were all great. You have a new subscriber :)

  • Omggg! Tell me about it. I'm so tired of being assigned roles based on what's between our legs. I loved your 4th poem the most. It was very relatable!

  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    Awesome poems. Love them all. ❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.