Poets logo

Playing the Villain

You want it, you got it.

By Gina RuizPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Every good villain has a tragic backstory. Some chain of events that finally led them to snap. Some were dealt a trash hand in life while others truly tried to be great, only to be stomped into the ground until all they had left was determination and cynicism. I always admired villains who had to overcome. The ones who didn’t start out evil but simply adapted to survive what life threw at them. Maybe I related more than I knew. I think I’ve let enough time pass that I can finally begin my own journey.

I’ve tried for so long to be a positive force in the universe. To keep everyone happy and achieve success. But life is cruel and I didn’t get to where I am without surviving a tragedy or two. And though they haven’t been enough to break me completely, they have taken their toll. To be honest, I think I would have continued my attempt at becoming the hero for far too long if it wasn’t for this. Wasting my life conforming to what the public wanted and ignoring the bigger issues and my own identity. But something in me has finally clicked into place.

You want me to be the villain in your little fairy tale? I’d be happy to deliver. My best attempts at being good have only been thrown back in my face. I think it is finally time to embrace the role it seems I am destined to play. Consider this the beginning of my villain arc. My origin story, if you will. My hand has been forced but I can’t say I won’t enjoy this. Sometimes the villain was right all along and the hero was really the bad guy, though that doesn’t really matter to me at this point. You beat me until I broke. I have tasted blood now and I want more.

It seems that all the poking and prodding to try and get me to change has finally paid off. I am not the one in the wrong. I am not the one who is getting off on inflicting harm with no regard for anything other than my own entertainment and reputation. But I am more than willing to be the villain in that story. It took me too long to realize the truth of the situation I am in. But my eyes are open now. Every time you thought you were playing the hero, every time you tried to hurt me, I remember. I have learned so much from it all and I know very well exactly what you want me to be. I can’t promise I’ll stick to the script you wrote but I sure as hell will enjoy every last moment of this performance. So this is it, the gloves are off. I’m ready to have some fun. Just remember, this is what you asked for.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gina Ruiz

Navigating life with an artistic spin. Trying my best to bring a new perspective to my experiences with the hope to reach others in the same position.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.