Poets logo

Pillows

A Dissociative State of Joy

By Matthew BellPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I turn the pillow over to hold your scent

not for the pleasure of your smell

but for the happiness of the evening it brings

I don’t know how to write

I don’t know how to be good

I don’t know how to be what you need

I just know that I can love

and care and cry and feel anger

how could I hold such compassion

for another human who ruins

and feels pains that you can’t control

I am the biggest pain

a throbbing in your skull

but I’m trying my best

nothing I say holds as much value

as how I feel about you

I turn the pillow over

so your scent controls the room and my senses

I love

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Bell

20, I like dogs and writing about being sad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.