Poets logo

Picking Petals

She loves me, She loves me not.

By Kyleigh Richard Published 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Picking Petals
Photo by Victoria Kurtovich on Unsplash

Do I harbor affection for him? Although his image only occupies my thoughts in those fleeting instances when his attention eludes me, I acquired this disposition, still. I sense his emotional detachment as though I’ve transgressed some unwritten code.

What is the sense that distinguishes love from desire? Is tranquility and Inviolability preferable when there also exists fervent passion? Why not savor it? Is it wrong to yearn for the affection of one who does not reciprocate longing? Consuming every drop of their attention like water to a parched throat. I succumb to this.

Why have love and desire existed independently and inhabit different realms? Why does one elude me when acquiring the other? Love does not engulf or subjugate; These concepts contradict the essence of love. Desire is not gentle, nor patient. These would also contradict the essence of desire in comparison. Why does the yearning for both remain insatiable, Eternal desiring, yet never attaining them?

I find myself in this enigma, mind entangled with the allure of fleeting moments devoid of restraint yet, Heart aching for profound connection and deep-rooted emotional involvement.

How I hunger for these sensations.

performance poetrylove poems
3

About the Creator

Kyleigh Richard

Just a human experiment in consciousness.

(Self-proclaimed Moss Maiden)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Omgggg, this was so freaking relatable! I loved this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.