Poets logo

Phoenix

Rise from the Ashes

By Kayleigh QuinzelPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Raw, exposed, like a wire cut through

Right to the bone

I'm lost and confused

Feel as if I'm on my own

Faux smiles lead to a well rehearsed facade

Reaching out only to find air

The space between me and the world

is more vast than anyone could imagine

You wouldn't even know I'm there

Zoning in and out of life

What's it all for?

What is the point?

I'm staring back at the person in the mirror seeing pain and strife

She's not who I used to know

Merely a pretty shell hiding misery

You're shoving salt in the wound

Kicking me when I'm down

I'll rise up from the ashes

Soar across the sky

Fly away from here

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.