Poets logo

Perspective of a Tuna Can

How our food sees us from beyond the grave

By Toby HewardPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Perspective of a Tuna Can
Photo by kate on Unsplash

I live in your house,

and in grocery stores too.

I live in a can,

stuck tighter than glue.

I live on a shelf,

without sleep or food.

No need to worry,

I have a great mood.

I live my life waiting,

for someone to come by.

Picking me up now,

I give you a fervent bow.

You bring me to your counter,

along with many other friends.

We all get along greatly,

hoping things will never end.

Soon there is a pop,

and everything goes silent.

We all look up slowly,

and see a sight most violent.

All of us are getting dumped together,

and a larger can most hot.

Little did we know our fates,

Would lie in a pot.

So this is my end,

which was over as soon as it began.

But do not worry for me,

For I come once again in another little can.

fact or fictionsurreal poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Toby Heward

Creativity is boundless. We are gardeners that bring forth these fruits of wonder. Nature is my passion and I love to help readers see the stories with their own eyes through my works. Whether its poems, fact, or fiction I bring it to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.