Poets logo

Persephone’s Rainbow

A poem

By D.A. WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Persephone’s Rainbow
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

I’m all the hues of gray,

I am white and I am black.

I am the variants of color,

All they are and they all lack.

My diffidence is amber,

That light still filters through,

Diffused across the paper in the words that I construe.

My dedication is yet scarlet,

It burns in fiery zeal,

This flame that never wavers, this soldier that shall never kneel.

For I am a violet writer,

With all my purple prose,

And lavender and lilac tint the stories I compose.

My passions emit sapphire,

Fathomless and vast,

A wide and endless sea, an abyss whose depth is unsurpassed.

In verdant hues I wonder,

As I wander through my mind,

Like nature’s brilliant handiwork in which I seek but do not find.

You see, I am not just one color,

Many facets I refract,

Like sunlight through a diamond, I am thoroughly abstract.

Yet neither am I color,

I am no color at all.

Invisible, transparent, insignificant and small.

All in one, I am many,

I am none yet I’m replete.

I am Persephone’s own rainbow, death and life and self-complete.

art
Like

About the Creator

D.A. Williams

Published author of DECEMBER’S CHILD (a novel), and sinEater (a short story), former publishing development team member and editor, and lover of the written word and imaginary people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.