Poets logo

Perpetual Darkness

Ode to the moon

By Verity GreenePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Perpetual Darkness
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

The sun sets,

the world quiets down.

Lights are turned off

and stillness prevails.

Though barely acknowledged

you always come back-

a steady presence.

Your splendor,

your beauty, your grace,

your calming essence

enrapture me - safe.

You are my Mother

I am your Child-

you comfort me,

take my anxiety away,

you lull me to sleep,

give me hope in the form

of dreams.

You quiet the noise,

you quiet my mind.

You are my Mother

& I am your Child.

When you leave

peace leaves with you-

cacophony and disorder ensue.

Brightness sets my nerves on fire

scalds my throat through,

& it beats against my eardrums too.

Please, do not leave me!

Please, won't you stay?

Envelop me in your warm embrace,

give me solace till the end of my days.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Verity Greene

I love writing dark fantasy/ imagery poetry.

instagram.com/flawed.changeling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.