Poets logo

Perhaps it was time.

Maybe it was not just us.

By Laura Valentina M.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Perhaps it was time.
Photo by Shoeib Abolhassani on Unsplash

Perhaps it was written in our destinies. Perhaps we were wrong from the beginning. Maybe we tried to beat time at its own game, and rushed to the end without asking. Perhaps if we didn’t we might have been good for each other. Now we have to pay too high a price.

I gave you too much, too soon. I gave you so much that it overwhelmed your objectivity, you couldn’t see who I really was. I don’t blame you, love fades away. Little by little, layer by layer it fades until one day it allows you to finally wake up. Then you are no longer blind to my flaws. Finally you are free from the fantasy.

I wish we have had more time. I wish I had the time to appreciate you more, your delightful imperfections, your profound thoughts, your wildly understanding mind, your gentle touch, Al the little things that made me love you.

I hope I didn’t hurt you, I hope I was good enough. I hope I didn’t fail you, I hope you loved me too. I hope that you remember me with warmth in your heart, but more than anything I hope that once I’m gone, you treasure our time together just as much as I do.

Perhaps in another life, I will not be wrong.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Laura Valentina M.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Laura Valentina M.Written by Laura Valentina M.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.