Poets logo

Perfume Memories

A poem about his scent

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Image by Наталья Данильченко from Pixabay

It lingers still

Even after a few weeks

The scent that captivated me

The minute it infiltrated my nasal passages

And took all my other senses hostage

*

It trapped my mind in present time

As I slowly became intoxicated

By a potent mix of different odorants

Inoculating the air that cocooned me in

*

I knew it contained special powers

The very moment I inhaled it

As I lay here like a drug addict

Sniffing the dress I had worn

*

I can smell black cherry and amber

And other times I get hints of vanilla

These chemicals are having a narcotic effect

As I hold the dress even closer

*

It still smells so intense

Like it has been freshly sprayed

My mind focused on getting to that high

Despite it being a couple of days

*

I need it to take me back to the moment when

His hands held me tight

While we danced, our bodies intertwined

When I became so drunk on his pungent scent

*

Perfume memories will do that to you

It can transport you back in time

Just as it has me reminiscing

In desperate need of withdrawal

Until I am completely detoxified

...

Thank you for reading. If you enjoyed reading the above poem, here are a few others that you may also enjoy.

https://vocal.media/poets/those-eyes-vch5p60ipy

https://vocal.media/poets/a-part-of-me-walked-away

https://vocal.media/poets/always-and-forever-yda9dy08y4

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.