Poets logo

A Part Of Me Walked Away

There was no turning back

By Ali SPPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
13
A Part Of Me Walked Away
Photo by Ahmet Muhsinoglu on Unsplash

A part of me walked away,

it didn’t even look back.

My body was too much to bare,

it found a way out.

*

A chance at life

outside this receptacle

that has always carried me.

To be independent of

the constant reminder

of who I was,

and who I have come to be.

*

I felt raindrops touch my skin

then realized,

each water droplet came from me.

They had escaped from my eyes

then it hit me,

I can still feel.

*

I yelled out to that part of myself,

“Please don’t leave me like this!”

I even ran out and begged it,

“Why don’t you come back to me, please?”

*

Even though I knew the emptiness

was no home to return to.

Left behind

were the memories of

a hurtful past

that tried to torment me,

still.

*

I took a look at what was left

and saw

the flashing neon sign that read,

You are still here.

*

I closed my eyes and inhaled deeply,

enough to fill my lungs.

I breathed out this time very slowly,

felt each tiny molecule

as it moved through me.

*

I noticed that it left behind

some of the essential parts.

A mind,

to process all my thoughts

and a beating heart;

a place to store my love

while keeping me alive.

*

If it wanted,

it could have killed me

but it kept me alive.

It allowed death to spare me,

I don’t understand why.

*

There has to be a reason

that part of me walked away.

It’s most likely the parts I kept,

from which I needed an escape.

Thank you for reading! This poem was originally published here.

sad poetry
13

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.