Poets logo

Perfection

Hard to let go of

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Perfection
Photo by Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

The daily struggle continues to ensue,

Yet the goal of perfection is not one to pursue.

It brings me up to think I will reach it,

Yet subsequently brings me down by its subtle deceit.

I move my eyes up towards the sky,

Ponder how I may reach perfection,

Yet feel its claws sink into my skin

Feebly I sink as I am far too weary.

Perfection takes its toll, I am far too fatigued,

With every step I take towards it, I feel further from it.

I realize in my wake it has me under control,

I stare into its jaws and see my demise.

Perfection, I have to let you go.

It does little to dwell on dreams like you.

I will not let you steal another shred of sanity,

My dim eyes cannot look at you any longer.

My imperfections make me who I am,

I am no less of a person without perfection.

I seek my freedom from its clasp as I know the struggle is not worth it.

Perfection you have lost another follower, you will not claim me.

I am free to be nothing but me.

Nobody can take that from me.

I remain undefeated and will never cease to be free,

Because whatever will be will be.

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sid Aaron HirjiWritten by Sid Aaron Hirji

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.