Poets logo

Perfect Place

Inspired by Taylor Swift's 'The Lakes'

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
10
Perfect Place
Photo by Cristofer Maximilian on Unsplash

Out there, in the great wide world.

There is a perfect place.

Or maybe more than one.

Where all the poets went to die.

A place where the sunlight is golden.

Where the winds are a gentle kiss.

Wasps never buzz by.

Bees are fat and slow as they fly.

Maybe a place where I,

Along with you,

Can finally find the time that Bilbo sought.

A place to rest and finish my book.

Without the pain that life has wrought.

Take me to that place,

The one way out there,

Where the mountains are grown tall from the tiniest stones.

Take me to the lakeshore,

Where all the poets went to die,

Where the winds rustle the golden leaves on their trees.

Take me to the coast,

To watch the waves as they crash,

To hear the gulls weep over the setting of the sun.

Out there,

In the Great Wide Word,

There is a perfect place.

Or maybe more than one.

A place where all the poets went to die.

A place where the night is cool,

While the day is warm.

A place where the wind is gentle as a forgotten kiss.

A place where the sky is clear,

While the clouds linger just out of sight.

Take me to that place,

The one way out there.

Where all the poets went to die.

Where we all belong under the perfect sky.

Out there, in the great wide world.

Take me to that perfect place.

Where my weary head can finally lie.

In the place where the poets went to die.

Mental HealthFree VerseElegy
10

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    I listened to the song before reading and I love this duet you've created. It's intertwining the original lyrics in with new ones and wow, Alex, you're a poet. I know you don't consider yourself one but you are. This reads so differently than your prose, it carries the weight that good poetry must. And using inspirational works like songs is the perfect way to find that voice. I must commend you on this one. It's gorgeous and I want to go where you were imagining this place to be. "Take me to that place, The one way out there, Where the mountains are grown tall from the tiniest stones. Take me to the lakeshore, Where all the poets went to die, Where the winds rustle the golden leaves on their trees."

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    I'm unaware of Taylor Swift's music but this poem was a good read. I enjoyed the vastness of it!

  • I'm a hugeeeee Swiftie and I loveeeeee The Lakes! Your poem was so hauntingly beautiful and I loved the repetition! Well done!

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    This is so calming. I loved reading it. It flows so well. It's really masterfully written.

  • Sara Wilson3 months ago

    Sounds incredibly peaceful. Not ironic that I was just almost in tears to my husband last night telling him I just needed a quiet place to think for even an hour lol. This place sounds ideal for that.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This is beautiful 😍

  • I really loved the sense of calm you evoke with this poem. It implies poets are all a little rattled and hurt, just needing a place to rest. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.