Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Target Practice

For Poppy's January Prompting

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
12
Image Generated Using AI

Leftovers of their actions

Reminders of my own

Weeping memories of battles past

Angry eyes of glaring hate

-0-

The crumpled mess of broken flesh

Is all that I've become.

-0-

Following the whipcrack rebuke

Tearing into what's left of me.

What I've rebuilt since the last...

That previous and fearsome battle

-0-

Yet still, do not I carry on?

After every volley and with every dawn?

-0-

My blood is spattered across my years.

Ruby drops from gaping wounds.

Holes torn in very essence.

By the bullets of your words.

-0-

Perforated lungs

and riddled heart

-0-

Another shattered rib

One more murdered dream

With violent action I try to staunch

My life as it drains away

-0-

Yet my hands are gently pulled away

By my actions to my dismay

-0-

As many or more wounds that you have caused

The bullet holes in my fractured soul

Are mine alone

That only I can mend

-0-

Am I able to, I wonder though

Plug the holes that life has punched

-0-

On my hands my blood is red

In my hands the gun I used

To put these holes in my very soul

Beside and around the ones you caused

-0-

Bullet holes that might not heal

Even if I take the risk and try to mend...

---

This poem was inspired by Poppy's January Challenge. I highly encourage you all to give the rules a read, load your own submissions, and fire them off to her.

sad poetryStream of ConsciousnessheartbreakFree VerseCONTENT WARNINGBallad
12

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 4 months ago

    This is so raw and evocative and beautiful. I want to copy and paste every line because it's all so perfect, but I'll try to pick my very favourites. "Yet still, do not I carry on? After every volley and with every dawn?" Ahhh, that's such a gorgeous two lines. So inspiring yet also validating. "Am I able to, I wonder though Plug the holes that life has punched" So relatable and worded wonderfully. Really great work with this!!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is sad, yet beautifully written. Well done.

  • Whoaaa, this was so dark, poignant and emotional! I loved both your poem and your cover photo! May I know what was the prompt you used to create that pic?

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Nicely shot AM, I just hope that flesh can recover from the wounds and be whole again.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Best one in my opinion, and there was some stiff competition. Stand by for T.S. in 3..2..

  • Wow! Cleaverly powerful! Love the "-0- s" "On my hands my blood is red In my hands the gun I used To put these holes in my soul itself Beside and around the ones you caused -0- Bullet holes that might not heal Even if I take the risk and try to mend..." I trust we all mend from such 'bullet holes'.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.