Poets logo

People

k.c. kennings poetry

By K.C. KENNINGS Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
"I like the way we find things in people that mirror us..."

I used to think I hated everyone,

But recently I realized that isn't true,

I do like a few:

I like thoughtful people who hold doors for strangers.

I like helpful people who put away the shopping carts other people left in parking spaces.

I like animal people who talk to their pets as though they are responding.

I like customer service people who hum in the phone silence that hangs between the question you ask and the answer they find.

I like busy people who put the things they've already done on their to-do-list for the satisfaction of marking them off.

I like plant people; the ones who choose to grow through their stress.

I like creative people who are trying to figure out their styles and leave a Frankenstein of multi-media experiments in their wake.

I like religious people who like to listen to people with different ideologies for the sake of learning and understanding.

I like astrology people who ask for your birth time so they can go through the trouble of looking up your chart in an effort to understand you in their language.

I like quiet people who always seem to make off-hand, witty comments in unbridled perfect timing.

I like people who take personality tests to gain a better understanding of the life story they've been writing, and as a means to find weaknesses to improve upon, and strengths that they can use to help others.

I like petty people who decide not to do what they were about to do.

I like people who who have done horrible things, hold themselves accountable for those actions, and still find the tremendous courage it takes to change themselves; move beyond the hate they previously felt trapped in.

I like broken people who refuse to harden their hearts.

I like timid people who have decided they are allowed to be bold in a world that tells them to settle.

I like dark people looking for light

I like frightened people who keep going

I like damaged people

I like the way we find things in people that mirror us, and reshape the way we used to think about the things we once hated about ourselves.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

K.C. KENNINGS

Write from the light

Your Life Matters

She/Her

LGBTQ+

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.