Poets logo

Peanut Butter Pariah

An extraterrestrial journey

By Josey PickeringPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Peanut Butter Pariah
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

There's a creature in my kitchen

and it's digging through my fridge.

I think it might even be an alien,

did it get here on some interstellar bridge?

I don't want to scare it or make it freeze in shock,

but it's making such an awful mess.

I could make it a simple snack

then no one will need to stress.

I know there's a peanut butter jar and some bread too,

I hope we've got jelly but banana could also suffice.

Then again, I'm not sure aliens like bananas

so now I'm here thinking twice.

I stepped into the kitchen and took a deep breath,

I opened the cabinet slowly and reached for the jar.

This could be my end, my death!

Maybe though, I could impress my visitor from afar.

We locked eyes and theirs were giant and black

but it didn't move and only watched me make my move.

I grabbed for the bread, taking two from the stack

and I settled on jelly before getting into my groove.

I grinned as I made the perfect peanut butter & jelly

and held it out on one of my mom's good plates.

It was swallowed down, a fully belly!

That little alien didn't hesitate.

They cooed in delight, and put up no fight

so I simply handed off the jar.

It was then that they rushed out to their tiny ship to take flight.

No words were exchanged we just understood somehow,

I know no one will believe me, but I swear it happened just now.

I helped a little traveler load up on their journey in the stars

and I hope they made good use of the rest of the peanut butter jar.

humor
1

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Peanut butter is perhaps not a bad encapsulation of what mankind is about!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.