Poets logo

Blankie

An Ode To A Comfort Item

By Josey PickeringPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Blankie
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

You were there for my very first dreams,

calmed by the silk of your binding between my fingertips.

You’re tattered & tearing at the seams,

Yet still the sail of the ship that rocks me to sleep.

You’ve seen me grow and find my place,

we’ve traveled the world together too.

You’re there on my bed in your space,

waiting for me to wrap you together again.

You’ve got holes & tears turning from white to grey,

but you’re still my superhero cape

so that I can save the day.

You’ve soothed me enough to keep the monsters at bay.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.