Poets logo

Peanut Butter and Jelly is the best sandwich

Ode to a childhood favorite

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Peanut Butter and Jelly is the best sandwich
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

When I was a little girl in elementary school

I had one lunch meal that above all others would rule

A sandwich of crunchy peanut butter and jelly

Always tasted good and filled my belly

My grandma would cut the heels off the bread

Before the PB & J she would spread

By Jonathan Pielmayer on Unsplash

Welches grape jelly and Peter Pan

I loved to lick it off my hands

When I popped open my lunch box lid

I was a most happy kid

Once I opened the ziplock bag

I was ready to eat no one had to nag

By Mario Mesaglio on Unsplash

The aroma in my nose was so enticing

PB & J tastes better than chocolate cake icing

The nuts in the peanut butter are crunchy

The grape jelly is so smooth, delicious, and munchy

PB & J as a meal is simply the best

This sandwich stands alone ahead of the rest

For Fun
3

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Yumm! My mom would not have crunchy so when i grew up, that was all I bought!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.