Poets logo

Patriotic

poetry

By Sharieff ClarkPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was walking on a gentle breeze day and saw a man wearing " I stand for the flag" shirt like him I wish I was that proud of my country but

I can't sing a anthem to honor soldiers that discards my fallen sister and brothers

I can't represent your colors when you disrespect mine

I will not wear your flag while the people who are supposed to protect us are firing at my pigment

I like holes in my jeans not my body

I won't yell America! cause you all just kneed I mean stood there while George Floyd cried for his mom

After seeing all the hate you have towards me you still want me to love you

is that not crazy?

I should praise my abuser, my oppressor's?

well to come to think of it what is more patriotic than that.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.