Poets logo

Past Mistakes

By Dylan "Talonted" Garcia

By TalontedPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like
Past Mistakes
Photo by A G on Unsplash

The mind is a funny thing

The worst things get stuck inside

No matter how hard I try

I can’t seem to hide

The past has eyes like an eagle

And a bite like a tiger

Past mistakes eat at me

And loves to pick fights with a non-fighter

I get hung up on every little mistake

With no room for respite

Because the truth is

I have never won a fight

Every hit I take leaves a bruise

Ones that don’t fade away for a long time

Every time it happens

It feels like I committed a crime

How dare I have flaws

I should be ashamed

To be such a wildfire of failure

That cannot be contained

That’s how it makes me feel

And it loves to resurface often

Scars that cut deep

On a mind that has little room to fit more in

Every screw up

Every past mistake

It all makes me want to just quit

It’s all too much for me to take

But the only real choice

It to let the tiger move on and take a breath

And not let the past mistakes

Be the cause of my own death

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Talonted

I am a Business Leadership Associate's graduate with a passion for creating. I do mostly poetry of which I hope to speak to other people's souls, share my emotions, maybe connect, and maybe even help a few people in the process

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.