Poets logo

Partisan Bickering

A Political Poem

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
8

The battle between right and left goes on

Ideological tensions increase

Partisan bickering will rage on

Until our debates about freedom cease

Two forms of freedom are really at stake:

Freedom from constraint or interference

And freedom to, of life, what we wish make

Both positions are worthy of defense

The right wishes to be left quite alone

To ruggedly face life’s myriad trials;

The left insists that the state can loan

The toothless the means to improve their smiles

The two can be moved to cooperate

Free from and free to, we can write our fate

Sonnet
8

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    Indeed. The two-party system is the illusion of choice as they’re opposite sides of the same coin—and we’re all being shortchanged.

  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Thought provoking piece!

  • Whoaaaa, this was extremely powerful! Loved your poem!

  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    There seems to be no one left arguing for the middle ground, that we need a little bit of both, so I approve of your message. "freedom" is a nonsense meaningless word when everyone is paying taxes, and following thousands of rules. My dad wasn't allowed to plant a cactus in his front yard in Arizona (until he spent months on the local approval process)

  • Interesting. I found your statement about the left insists the state can loan. I don't see it that way. I see it as the left working toward putting our tax dollars rightfully back where they belong - to we the tax payers. Programs such as social security, medicare, and so forth are not hand outs from the government but they are programs which put those tax dollars to work for the tax payers. I strongly feel that my tax dollars should be invested in programs that will one day help me get by in my day to day life. I also feel my tax dollars should be going to things like infrastructure - this is very important and for health care. I take care of my 87 year old mom. We live in California and thank goodness for that. California has many programs available that assist the elderly and the sick. More states around the U.S. should have more beneficial health care programs as does California. Again these are not hand outs from the government - but my tax dollars going to work to help me (and my loved ones) most when we need the help the most.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.