Poets logo

Parallel Loves

The Scorpio Love Story

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Parallel Loves
Photo by Михаил Секацкий on Unsplash

I've never really talked to him

But I guess I'm that kind of person

that people randomly confide in

:

Maybe they can tell I'm a Scorpio

My mystery indicating

I'm a good listener

and I can go deep

:

He started telling me

about his ex-girlfriend

:

Their situation reminded me

of a situation I left behind

:

He said

"I was insecure,

and she was secure with herself

so I always accused her of cheating."

"But the truth is I was just projecting my fears onto her, and my family didn't help."

:

"My family filled my head

with all sorts of negative things

about her that just wasn't true."

"But I believed them."

"It turns out they were jealous

of our relationship."

:

"I recently had to cut them off because

I realized how much they were manipulating me even beyond my relationship."

:

"I allowed my insecurities

and gossip from others I trusted

to ruin a good thing."

:

He told me

she was a Scorpio

and so is he

Their birthdays

on the same day

:

"Interesting."

"I went through something similar in my last meaningful relationship, and we are both Scorpios. Our birthdays a couple days apart."

:

"I've dated a lot of Scorpio men before and their insecurities always seem to get in the way in the relationship."

:

He agreed

"As a Scorpio man I can say that's true."

:

"Every Scorpio woman I've dated has been secure in herself, and is okay with being alone. That worries me that they will leave."

"I hate feeling lonely."

:

I looked at him with compassion

"It sounds like it's time for you to learn how to be comfortable being alone."

:

"You are the 10th person to tell me that."

"But it's harder for men to be alone than it is for women. Even if a guy isn't in a relationship, they will be out fucking every girl they can to fill the void of loneliness."

:

"I know it."

"But if you can be alone, and enjoy your own company, that is where you learn self-love."

"Then you are unstoppable, because you don't need anyone to make you feel whole."

:

"I felt like another major problem is that

I like to talk things through

if there's a problem, like an adult."

"But she called that drama and tried avoiding difficult conversations."

:

"Everytime I tried to bring up something that I felt was important to talk about she would roll her eyes and say 'Here we go again'."

:

"It's like she didn't realize if you don't talk about things it doesn't make them go away,

it just allows them to fester with fears

and resentments."

:

My eyes lit up with understanding

"You sound like me in that situation."

"I like to talk through things to get through them, but he would avoid difficult conversations and project all the blame onto me."

:

"He wouldn't hear me out when I had concerns about our relationship. He even would talk down to me for bringing it up, or just ignore me all together."

:

He empathized,

"That's the worst feeling too."

"When someone who's supposed to care for you won't even listen to what you have to say, and then makes you feel like the bad guy for being vulnerable and expressing your concerns."

:

"Yeah it sucks especially when you try to hear them out, and they won't even give you the same courtesy and respect."

:

"Plus feeling ignored by someone has the same chemical effects as an injury does on the body."

"It's not only immature, but passively violent communication."

:

"Scorpios love hard too,

so when you hurt a Scorpio

you cut them even deeper than most."

:

We parted ways

and I let him know I'm here

if he needed a friend

:

I thought to myself

'Isn't it strange the parallels

you can experience

in four different bodies

in two different situations

in two different places

on one planet'

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.