Poets logo

Panic Attack

A poem I wrote in the throes of anxiety.

By Ashley LimaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Panic Attack
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

Sometimes it's hard to breathe.

The world gets dark

And the whispers in my head scream.

My heart beats so fast that

It feels like I'm dying.

Who should I call first,

For my final goodbye?

Grounding techniques:

What can I hear, see, and smell?

It doesn't really matter

When my world feels like hell.

When I choke on my spit

And the bile burns my insides,

I know it only lasts for a while.

But sometimes a while

Feels like a lifetime.

And I worry about time too much

That it's wasted,

Waiting,

Silent screams.

Stuck in my own head

With forever to go.

I want to exist,

But not like this.

I know these moments pass,

But I yearn for constant bliss.

Afraid to die,

But scared to live.

Stuck in the in-between -

The curse of genetics.

Nature or Nurture?

I guess it doesn't matter at this point.

Anxiety is torture.

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is so well written. It so accurately sums up what it feels like to be caught in anxiety's clutches. 'Afraid to die, But scared to live' is an absoltely perfect line

  • Wow that really was so powerful and so relatable. So many of these lines hit hard, especially, the ones about worrying about time and that it’s wasted. My goodness, that hit the nail on the head for me. I worry about that… weekly… daily. I really felt this one… excellently done!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Powerful and powerless, I can relate so much. That last line is gold. Great work.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    That was powerful and emotional. Well done.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Wow! I felt this, every meaningful word of it. Great work!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Emotional and authentic!!! You nailed it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • I simultaneously like and kinda hate this because you did such a good job. Especially at capturing that self awareness in the middle, the I KNOW it’ll pass but it doesn’t make me feel better right NOW.

  • Absolutely relatable. Who would I call to say goodbye? Anyone?

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    So much emotion in so few words. I like the way you came straight at this and I hope it's helpful. It took me back to long, long waits at the ER with my daughter.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Ouch, felt this a lot, Ashley. In so few words per line you painted such a desperate picture of despair. I am sorry you have had these kinds of experiences and hope writing about it helped. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I love this… I feel this. 😩❤️. I have a poem in drafts that’s been sitting there for months specifically about existing in-between. I never published it because I guess I felt like no one would get it. After reading this, I think you would though! 😬

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.