Poets logo

Pa-rum pum pum pum

Rhythms

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Pa-rum pum pum pum
Photo by Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

So much pressure

In the dark and dank

All alone

Inhaling water

Salty water I can taste

Some little drummer boy

Makes a water torture

Relentless cadence

Rhythm just at me

Pa-rum pum pum pum

Oh, pressure

Peaking

Plateauing

Peaking again

Pa-rum pum pum pum

Stop pushing me!

It's so crowded in here

Even though

All alone

And the hat doesn't fit

A square peg

Out of a round hole

The hat-band stretches

To accommodate me

Tight--hurts my head

Stop the pushing and shoving

Leave me (alone--too late)

Pushing me from behind

But The Outsider is here

Seizes me from above

With salad spoons tight tight tight

Gains purchase of my swollen head

Synchs the asynclitic

And pulls so hard on me

So hard on me Par-um

I'm between worlds

Between Heaven and Hell

In a place for infants called Limbo

The person pushing and the one pulling

Conspire to resettle me

At the end of my rope

My valve is closing

I'm a beast with two heads

Ripped asunder

And thrown center stage

I appear and my heart races

I grimace

I struggle to move

I gasp and

I score!

How soon forgotten

Is the land of dark and saltwater,

The leeching and selfish

From the light and the sound and the cold and the drummer

I seize my own drumsticks: Pa-rum pum pum pum

inspirational

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.