Poets logo

Ovid's Lament

"Cupid holds me in her arms..."

By Kourtney RisherPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I.

Cupid holds me in her arms,

Skin softer than the cloud she inhabits.

Eyes most beautiful,

I swear I was gazing at Neptune.

As the sun set,

the clouds faded out into the unknown.

My love wrapped in Nox’s cold embrace,

Sammanus roars as my love’s fingers slip mine.

As I fall back down to earth, I realize:

Jupiter hates a fool.

II.

The moon coated the colossal field with silver paint.

The foul taint reeked of lingering sorrow.

As I rose to my feet, my love’s tears drowned the earth,

the grass coating running away with Nox’s grace.

Across the dying field, a unicorn collapses.

A man with pale skin-

he must be akin to the moon-

grins at me as he stands over the creature.

Digging a grave for purity, he says,

"Venus is a cruel mistress"

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Kourtney Risher

I'm a poet and an aspiring novelist from El Dorado, AR.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.