Poets logo

Over-extension - Different Plane

erykah badu x out my mind ; There were times when it was simply more comfortable to imagine my lover was my own; but that wasn't the case. We met in the 5D, but 3D life was another story.

By Love ChukesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

Different Plane.

We never touched, but you felt me, though you hate to admit it. You were a beauty in the dark, stealing kisses every time we closed our eyes. I found the music of me, with you. I could almost hear the choir in our laughter. I could almost taste heaven on your breath. Congregating melodies and bodies, twisting and shining with the sweat of the unseen praise and worship. And then one day, suddenly, it was like the lights switched on. Like we had ironically been dancing on our graves blinded by our own expectations of what life was supposed to be. Too much had been spent on pedestals that sat Kings who wouldn’t dare break their neck to look down, too worried what they might discover neglected at the backs of their own shadows. I watched while you settled your heart on fleeting desires and choked on reality in all its bittersweet. Too much spotlight beamin' down over our rhythms of sin. Perhaps it was the little love we knew, that left us desperate to hold on to anything stronger. I could almost see us making something of love, even if it forced our hands at magic and prayer. I kept finding myself escaping lack of home, to you. I tried desperately to re-create familiar scenes that had never quite played out, blurring the line wishful thinking and gut feelings. I left you monologues expecting no applause. Just another insecurity, trapezing around your subconscious, waiting for us to materialize into something more.

I should’ve never been the girl of your dreams. We weren't even the same person. She had everything I couldn't grasp; you imagined you saw it in me. The falls from grace shattered more than ankles and hope. It took faith hostage, and stripped the ego of its gleam. You left me to brave the cold alone. And if I didn’t know any better, I’d think you were just around the corner, watching me shiver and ache from a distance; I could wear pain like black negligees and half-hearted smiles. Waiting for me in the realms where circumstance and mistakes couldn’t keep us apart. It was peaceful for a time. But every day I woke up in a world where you weren’t mine. Nothing more than the illusion of a lifetime with my almost lover.

So I stopped looking for you in my dreams. Message received, but I couldn't answer. I started telling myself hope was a clever ploy to trap the lovers who had no one else to steal their hearts. Thank you for the liberation from that; I’d carry my heart back to its resting place, but she is beyond my reach. Too many close calls playing with fire that always burned through. I noticed the butterflies are dying. They sputter angrily against the ribbed cages, but never cross my lips. You left my lips thin. Anger like mine could blow you speechless. My breath lost its lift. I didn’t even get to mold an “I love you”, before you gave up chance. It was clear - it was everything it looked like and nothing more. Been glass on the edge, been drinking spirits without consultation. I just hope it was worth the sip. Never dreamt you’d be a loner.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Love Chukes

"She wore her heart like high fashion. She had small shame in her game. She wrote with purest intentions. She held her mind to the blame."

I enjoy writing poetry, short stories, sudden revelations, and human confessions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.