Poets logo

Out of Shape

a triolet

By Sandra MatosPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Out of Shape
Photo by Tamara Gak on Unsplash

When the only shape that fit was square,

She wished to be an octagon.

And fitting in seemed quite unfair,

When the only shape that fit was square.

The same boxed image everywhere

Leaving life no clothes to don.

When the only shape that fit was square,

She wished to be an octagon.

This poem is called a triolet. A triolet is a short eight-line poem with only two rhymes, A and B. It follows a specific pattern. The first line must be repeated on lines four and seven. The second line must be repeated on line eight. It is as follows: A B a A a b A B

Although I write primarily free verse, I like the challenge of structured poetry.

vintage

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Beautifully managed, Sandra!

  • Another poetry format for me to try. This is wonderful

  • Nice❤️✨

  • Alena Caranovaabout a year ago

    I like this very much.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I’ve never heard of this type of poem! How interesting!

Sandra MatosWritten by Sandra Matos

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.