Poets logo

Our Gentle Alchemy

The world is a rough place.

By J. Otis HaasPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Smooth Challenge
Our Gentle Alchemy
Photo by Kai Pilger on Unsplash

“Your mother raised a gentle flower,” she said.

I know this much is true.

I am a fragile thing.

The world is a rough place,

And the slightest breeze bends my stem to the ground.

.

Existence is a belt-sander.

I disappear as I proceed,

The treadmill eating me from the feet up,

Until I am but a raw nerve, massless as a photon.

Tumbling along, out of control.

.

The regularly scheduled programming

Of TV static across my frontal lobe

Resolves into dreams,

But the ending is always a cliffhanger,

And there’s never a next episode.

.

The world is a rough place.

I can be smooth long enough to get what I need, but

I am quicksand,

Sinking into myself,

Past all the skeletons of the past.

.

I turn over stones in the desert, searching for sustenance, but uncovering only scorpions.

Steinbeck taught me to put Vaseline in my gloves,

And my long-idle, smooth hands are well suited for the task.

I am what I eat.

.

You are quicksilver smooth, the most effortlessly charming entity I have ever encountered.

I trace the trade-routes of your nervous system down your spine,

In awe of the circuitry that manifests the workings of your magnificent philosopher’s mind

Into inscrutable, dazzling action.

I long to be like you.

.

Blessedly, you allow it.

The world is a rough place, but smooths, guided by your patience in the presence of our gentle alchemy.

We stretch each moment into eons,

Our laughter a windbreak in the sandstorm.

I am truly nourished.

.

I wake far from the desert,

Alone in the vast, inky blackness of interstellar space.

My craft a teardrop of smooth mercury,

Racing, faster-than-light, across impossible distances,

But I am not afraid.

love poems

About the Creator

J. Otis Haas

Space Case

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Alison McBain6 months ago

    I liked the contrast between smooth and rough – really brought the piece to life. Your reference to the belt sander was spot on.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Beautiful.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is simply gorgeous. Congrats.

  • D.K. Shepard6 months ago

    Congrats! Loved the opening dialogue!

  • Lynn Jordan7 months ago

    Loved this!

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    Very nice imagery. Thank you.

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    Ahh, very smooth indeed! Super nice!!

  • Salman siddique7 months ago

    short but loved reading it

J. Otis HaasWritten by J. Otis Haas

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.