Poets logo

Our First Greet

Welcome to the splendid world

By zhen xuPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Our First Greet
Photo by Taksh on Unsplash

COVID-19 took away my loved ones.

But it welcomes our family's firstborn.

Everyone’s identity had adapted.

My mom became a grandma.

My sister became a mom.

And I became an aunt.

She saved us from the melancholy trap.

She was god’s gift.

But I'll be honest,

The gift was a bit tiny and 'ugly.'

Oh, forgive me,

I was not aware of how would a week old look.

She was also quiet,

Sleeping as if she were in the womb.

Despite her quietness,

I heard her lively breathing.

I touched her little finger,

She opened her eyes.

It was our first official greet.

inspirationallove poemsGratitudeFor FunFamilychildrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Thank you for acknowledging how ugly a week old baby would look, lol! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.