Poets logo

Our Final Goodbye

Lethal Dose - #1

By House September Published 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Our Final Goodbye
Photo by Stephen Caserta on Unsplash

The dark room holds no promises,

and I give myself over to the unknown.

I am unsure if this is poison or merely a cautionary fib.

***

The nostalgic memories leave a scar.

With my eyes closed, I relive the fragmented pieces of you.

I am all but acidic, and I am envious of the flowers that bloom above you.

***

Although, I continue to keep my eyes closed,

and our gavel-to-gavel discourse comes to an end.

I no longer entertain the useless banter, and I focus.

***

I keep my eyes closed,

And from the pit, out in the distance,

I see a thread of perplexing and vibrant color.

surreal poetryperformance poetryFree Verseart
1

About the Creator

House September

We’ll play with each other’s broken hearts. Let us exchange our pieces like trading cards.

I’m too bored to notice, and you are too high to notice the air beneath your feet.

I have poems to share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Though it started off poignant, I loved how it ended optimistically! Beautiful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.