Poets logo

Orphaned Thoughts

Adopted Thinking - Adaptive Actions

By Brenton FPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Image by crAIyon.com

i can remember

thinking at one time

a whole lot of silly little thoughts

individual thoughts

orphaned thoughts

the bastard children

of that forgotten line

those coupla words

that slipped away

and fell into the gaps between the seconds

  1. getting past the screensaver
  2. minimising all that other shit
  3. opening word processor du jour
  4. Ctrl-N

now, where were we?

[________________________]

it's like a game

i unwillingly play with myself

i tease myself with really good lines

chart topping

eye popping

name dropping

such droolingly good lines

fat and fecund with promise

i waxed lyrical with my best

but lacking the ability to remember shit

for all but a few seconds

it get taken down or it gets taken out

this is not

what i was going to write

i hold my hands up

and look at them

mouth agape in disbelief

full of pride and a little shamed

i’m certain of both

full of lithe and a little grin

i’m hurting for the most

it was a line to die for

it was going to be so good

it was a brilliant bloody line

if i may say so myself

that brilliant line

hit my mind

while my hands

including and right up to

my wrists

were in

a mix of last night’s dishes,

steaming hot water

and soap

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysocial commentary
6

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    So relatable, also a fun read! I’ve been feeling similarly lately, amidst all the daily reqs of life, to even find the time to remember that I had a line I wanted to nurture. This poem captures the experience perfectly.

  • A line to die for. This is why there is insomnia, insanity and beautiful work, like this. I love this. Enjoy it more, as I re-read it 👏

  • This was kinda relatable. Brilliantly written!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Descriptive and surreal!!! Enjoyed the read!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Not a bad description of the process...and may all your orphaned thoughts find a home!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.