Poets logo

Oranges for Christmas

A poem

By Joelle E🌙Published 8 months ago 1 min read
14
Oranges for Christmas
Photo by Fabrice Villard on Unsplash

Staying true to myself

Feels right

But also, hard and unforgiving, like

The edge of a knife

*

Staying true to myself

Feels good

In the same way that fruit for Christmas does–

It’s better than nothing

*

Tiptoeing through these emotions

Is a dance of faith that

Never feels quite fair either way

*

Holding onto what’s left of myself

Leaves me blue

*

What’s the point of it all if I can’t have you?

sad poetry
14

About the Creator

Joelle E🌙

There is gold in every piece of your story ✨

📝 Find me on Medium

⭐️ Shop the Starfish Project

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 8 months ago

    I love this!! This stanza especially hit me: ‘ Staying true to myself Feels good In the same way that fruit for Christmas does– It’s better than nothing’ Stunning, and the ending was super impactful too!

  • That desire for relationship, to be connected, is part of who the vast majority of each of us is. But being in relationship always means compromise if it is to be genuine & mutual. Recognizing that such compromise when it is reciprocal--when it's not simply being a doormat or "whooped" as guys like to tease their male friends (I don't know how women tease one another over such things)--is not a betrayal of oneself but rather of being true, is not easy. I still haven't figured it out & I just turned 64. My friend, you have much time where you don't need to have it figured out, either. Just doing the best you can to be true, not only to yourself but to others who are important to you, is all you should ask of yourself. And when you mess up, be kind to yourself & don't beat yourself up over it. Let it go & do what you can to do better.

  • Gosh this was so emotional and relatable! Brilliant work!

  • Skylar Whitney8 months ago

    this is so beautifully written and something I can especially relate to at the moment. thank you for this

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    beautiful

  • Test8 months ago

    Raw, real, emotional, and oh so relatable. I love this, The Writing Witch. Fantastic 💕😊

  • Oh the holidays..the expectations of joy, mingled with the realities of loneliness. So well expressed in your poem

  • Ohh! From the title (stunning) … first line to last, this had me ! Somehow I feel like it’s triggering different broken parts inside me… and they are now making friends!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Love this...that last line though...so sad :( Well done, Joelle. Always reach the feels with your words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.