Poets logo

Optimist vs Pessimist

Winners and Losers

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 11 days ago 1 min read

I reap what I sow

You sew what you rip

I keep what I grow

You sink with the ship

.

My cargo ships far

You are quartered below

Seeking trips that I saw

You're tethered in tow

.

My tailwinds will carry me

You headwinds will slow

My wings lift me easily

Drafts toss you to-and-fro

.

I'll get what I seek

You'll fall on your chases

I'll die happy and meek

Wearing all the fools' faces

.

You're aimlessly dreaming

I'm Jacob, not Esau

You'll wake up soon, screaming

And not what you are

.

inspirational

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 days ago

    Oooo, this was so deep! Fantastic work!

  • L.C. Schäfer10 days ago

    "I'll die happy and meek/Wearing all the fools' faces" is my favourite bit!

  • Dawnxisoul393art10 days ago

    Wonderful! The use of metaphors, such as reaping and sewing, tailwinds and headwinds, creates a sense of opposing paths and outcomes.The final lines leave a haunting impact, it is a poem that invites reflection on the choices we make and the paths we take, thank you very much for sharing!

  • John Cox11 days ago

    You reversed the order and/or tone of the dialogue in the last stanza. Clever delight!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 days ago

    Ah, "Jacob, not Esau". I really like that... A very clever dialog, sir!

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.