Poets logo

Open The Gates

Walls can be put up to protect us, but they prevent others from loving us.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
15
Open The Gates
Photo by Miikka Luotio on Unsplash

We both put up our walls the night we met

The more we flirted the more my heart yearned

I made a decision to open up the gate

To allow you into my kingdom

*

You might have believed I was a king

The way I held myself up on a pedestal

My truth is I was a fool merely performing for all to see

Joy came to me from the laughter of others

*

By Austin Lowman on Unsplash

Your tale was something much different from mine

You stood atop your walls and professed your love to me

Those words always felt empty to me

I never saw your gate move

*

You asked to be treated like a queen on a pedestal

Yet you carried yourself like a fool

A mask of pain for all to see

Hiding from the world your inner self

*

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

I stood at your gate and waited patiently

Love and compassion were given freely

Things I couldn’t even give myself at times

But your heart was still full of pain

*

In the end the price became too steep

My mind betrayed my heart

Reality opened my eyes to the truth

A simple step was all it took for me to walk away

*

Yet my feet refused to move

There was a chain around me that had to be cut

Calling upon my spirit guides to cut the chain

A sword broke the chains in the blink of an eye

Back to my kingdom I ran with a new mask to play the fool

By Ricardo Cruz on Unsplash

sad poetry
15

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.